Leave the Junk, Keep the Food

I’m Maddy and I’m a 21 year old college student. All my life I have been an avid junk food eater. I grew up having a fast metabolism, so I could pretty much eat whatever I wanted while staying thin. After turning 18 and consistently feeling sluggish, I realized it was time to make a change.

Although I looked healthy on the outside, my insides were far from it. After doing my own personal research, I started to slowly change my habits over the next few years. I began by incorporating more beneficial things into my life, without giving up the things I loved the most.

Most people think eating healthy means restricting yourself and switching to boring, tasteless meals. I’m here to say that is simply not true. The key is to leave out the processed crap and eat things made with real ingredients you can trust.

When you focus on real food you’ll find you can still eat your favorite foods while also nourishing your body. Health is not measured by a number on a scale or how you look on the outside. It has to do with how you feel. Once your insides are healthy, you’ll physically and mentally feel better.

So leave the junk and keep the food! You’ll now be able to enjoy “junk” food without the guilt.

It is worth noting I am not a nutritionist. Everything I post about, are things I have found in my own personal research. I have found these tips, recipes, etc to benefit me in my own health journey. I am still constantly learning new things every day! Also keep in mind, like most things in life, everything is best in moderation. Just because there is a guilt free version of cookies doesn’t mean you should eat the whole batch in one sitting. (Although I wouldn’t judge you if you did, I’m guilty of it too) Everyone’s body is different, so everyone will have a different journey. I encourage you to do your own research as well and use my posts as a guide to help you transition into a healthy, balanced lifestyle!

One of the books that has really helped me learn and transition into a healthy lifestyle is The Beauty Detox by Kimberly Snyder.

